You are here

Additional Information

UDOWD Partners

Working with the IRS

Cell Phone Assistance Programs


In today's job market, it seems every position requires a minimum of a high school diploma. If you do not have a high school diploma, then you may find it difficult to apply for these positions or enroll in college or some other form of higher education. In Utah, if you were unable to complete a traditional high school education you may gain a high school equivalency diploma by passing the GED test. This examination is overseen by the Utah State Office of Education and you must meet all minimum eligibility requirements to take this examination.

Utah GED Eligibility Requirements:  If your high school graduating class has already graduated, you will qualify to take the GED examination if you are at least 17 years of age. Those who are 16 years old may still qualify to take the Utah GED exam if you enroll in an adult education course designed to test your ability to successfully pass the GED examination.  The Utah State Office of Education features various requirements for those who are out-of-state, those who did not complete most of their high school in Utah and those who were home-schooled. If you meet any of the aforementioned persons, read the eligibility requirements by visiting the Utah State Office of Education website; a link is provided in the Sources section below. 

Registering for the Utah GED Examination: You may register for the Utah GED examination in two ways. The first being online by visiting and filling out a test examination. The second way of registering for an examination is the day of the exam by visiting any of the Utah GED Testing Centers. You must bring a government-issued photo identification card or driver's license to the GED center and you must also pay the $70.00 examination fee.

Passing the Utah GED Examination: The Utah GED exam is compiled of a total of five subject area examinations. These exams include: science, mathematics, social studies, reading and writing. In order to gain your high school equivalency examination you must score a minimum of 410 on each of the five subject areas as well as an average score of 450 on the five exams. You must also have a total overall score no less than 2250.